Creating tasks is a critical feature for tracking project progress in Fieldwire. Tasks are a catch-all for general to-do’s, deficiencies, observations, safety issues, etc.
If the task is created while viewing a plan, that task is considered to be a geo-tagged task (one that is specific to that location on the plan), as indicated by the marker pin icon. Tasks that are created while viewing the Tasks tab (not a plan) are designated as non-geo-tagged tasks, and they will have a square icon instead since they signify general work or reminders for the overall project (these tasks are not associated with a specific location). Tasks created while viewing a plan, but not placed in a specific spot, will be given diamond icons. For more information on geo vs non-geo-tagged tasks, please visit the Task Tab article.
These are the main components in the Task View:
- Task ID Number, Owner, and Title.
- You can add or edit a title by clicking on it. If you don't create a title when creating the task, your first task comment will be made the title.
- Each task is automatically assigned a task number for recording purposes. For instance, you can see that the task in the image below is labeled as #780. It also notes that the task is assigned to user MPR and is related to plan A3.01.
- Priority: This clarifies how urgent you deem this task. P1 indicates highest priority, and P3 indicates the lowest. You can also mark the task as Completed (green checkmark) or Verified (blue checkmark), however only Admins can mark tasks as Verified. Tasks that are verified will automatically be archived and disappear from the plan after one month has passed, so we don’t recommend deleting a task upon completion (or else there will be no record of it existing!).
- Category: This is the filter assigned to the task, depending on which user is responsible for completing it. Select a category by clicking on the field, and a list of all your established categories will appear. Categories are usually set by trade, but you can base them off any criteria you wish.
- Assignee: This is the user assigned to completing the task. If you do not assign a specific user, you will automatically be named as the owner when you first create the task. Anyone who has created or been assigned to a task will receive updates on task progress. Any new assignee to a task will be notified on their mobile device, as well as sent an email the following morning at 5:00 AM (local time). This email will outline all information regarding the task.
- Start/End Date: Set the required start and date of completion for the task. We realize that some jobs have hard end dates, so this, along with the priority feature, will help you schedule work wisely. Priority can also be affected by end dates - for instance, if you set a task as a P3 (low priority - yellow), it will turn into a P1 (high priority - red) as you get closer to the end date. This is meant to help remind you of work that needs to be taken care of.
- Effort: You can keep track of manpower and costs related to the task here.
- Checklists allow users to quickly mark something as "Yes," "No," or leave it blank.
- You can either create unique checklists or checklist templates for repetitive tasks.
- You can also post any updates or questions related to the task here.
- Add attachments, including documents from your Google Drive, to the task by clicking the paperclip button in the bottom left corner of Task View.
- On web, you can quickly upload photos into your task by using drag-and-drop to click on your photo files, dragging them over your browser/task window, and then dropping them onto the task itself. You will see the task window turn into an upload screen, and once complete, the photo will be included in the task.
- You can also email out a specific task by clicking the email button in the bottom right corner. Clicking this button will generate an email containing all task information. This is good for when a task needs immediate attention from someone not on Fieldwire.
- Admins can edit or delete any content (comments, photos, etc.) in a task by hovering their cursor over the content and clicking on the gear icon that appears on the right side. Everyone else can only delete content that they themselves have added to the task.
Finally, here are two helpful tricks for keeping track of tasks:
- @: If you use an at-sign (@) while writing in the task title or in a comment, we will automatically display all of the users and categories connected to that @ on the task. For example, if you were to add "@Javed @HVAC" to the end of the task title, or in a comment box, that task will then be assigned to Javed and will now be associated with the HVAC category. You could also do this for multiple people, such as writing “@David @Javed @HVAC,” and the task will be assigned to both users. Both receive notifications, however the first user in the comment (in this case, David), would be made the owner of the task.
- #: Hashtags also help you add further structure to your project. If you include a hashtag within a task, such as writing a comment that reads "This is related to #RFI_41," it will generate a new hashtag that you can then use as a filtering tool. So you could then write "RFI_41" into another task in order to associate the two together.
Editing/Deleting Task Content: