Creating tasks is a critical feature for tracking project progress on Fieldwire. Tasks are a catch-all for general to-do’s, deficiencies, observations, safety issues, etc.
If the task is created while viewing a plan, that task is considered to be a geo-tagged task (one that is specific to that location on the plan), as indicated by the marker pin icon. Tasks that are created while viewing the "Tasks" tab (not a plan) are designated as non-geo-tagged tasks, and they will have a square icon instead since they signify general work or reminders for the overall project (these tasks are not associated with a specific location). For more information on geo vs non-geo-tagged tasks, please visit the Tasks Tab article.
Here is an example of the task view:
- Task details: ID Number, Title, and Owner
- Each task is automatically assigned a task ID number for recording purposes. For instance, you can see that this task is labeled as #7. It also notes that the task is assigned to user BS and is related to the ST (Structural) category.
- Comment - The speech bubble icon will allow you to leave comments. Pressing it will cause a comment box to pop up right above the toolbar.
- Camera - The camera icon will redirect to your phone’s camera and allow you to snap new photos or capture short videos to add to the task. You can upload photos already in your phone’s gallery by clicking "Library" in the top right corner of the camera.
- Paperclip - The paperclip icon lets you attach files (such as RFIs, photos, or specs) or a checklist template to the task. You can also annotate and markup images by clicking on them.
- Email Out - The email icon allows you to email this task to a specific person. Clicking it will open the device’s email client and include all of the task data (messages, images, etc.).
- Trash Can - Delete task entirely. This is only an option if the task has no content.
Clicking "Edit" in the task view lets you change these task attributes: Priority, Title, Owner, Category, and Start/End Date. All are optional, and help you keep track of the who/what/whens.
- Priority: This clarifies how urgent you deem this task. P1 indicates highest priority, and P3 indicates the lowest. You can also mark the task as Completed (green checkmark) or Verified (blue checkmark), however only Admins can mark tasks as Verified. Tasks that are verified will automatically be archived and disappear from the plan after one month has passed, so we don’t recommend deleting a task upon completion (or else there will be no record of it existing!).
- Title: The name of the task. You can rename the task by tapping on it.
- Owner: This is the user assigned to completing this task. If you do not assign a specific user, you will automatically be named as the owner when you first create the task. Anyone who has created or been assigned to a task will receive updates on task progress. Any new assignee to a task will be notified on their mobile device, as well as sent an email the following morning at 5:00 AM (local time). This email will outline all information regarding the task.
- Category: This is the filter assigned to the task, depending on which user is responsible for completing it. Select a category by clicking on the field, and a list of all your established categories will appear. Categories are usually set by trade, but you can base them off any criteria you wish.
- Start/End Date: Set the start and end dates for the task. We realize that some jobs have hard end dates, so this, along with the priority feature, will help you schedule work wisely. Priority can also be affected by end dates - for instance, if you set a task as a P3 (low) and it is color-coded yellow, it will turn into a red P1 (high) as you get closer to the end date. This is meant to help remind you of work that needs to be taken care of.
Here are two helpful tricks for keeping track of tasks:
- @: If you use an at-sign (@) while writing in the task title or in a comment, we will automatically display all of the users and categories connected to that @ on the task. For example, if you were to add "@Javed @HVAC" to the end of the task title, or in a comment box, that task will then be assigned to Javed and will now be associated with the HVAC category. You could also do this for multiple people, such as writing “@David @Javed @HVAC,” and the task will be assigned to both users. Both receive notifications, however the first user in the comment (in this case, David), would be made the owner of the task.
- #: Hashtags also help you add further structure to your project. If you include a hashtag within a task, such as writing a comment that reads "This is related to #RFI_41," it will generate a new hashtag that you can then use as a filtering tool. So you could then write "RFI_41" into another task in order to associate the two together.
With the paperclip icon, you can do the following:
- Attach a file (Spec, RFI, Submittal, Change Order, Photo, etc.)
- Insert a checklist, as below.
- Include a drawing (Scribble) to illustrate ideas.
- Crop the plan.
Checklists: Do you have simple tasks you want people to complete and check off? Use a checklist.
- You can insert checklists by typing a message and then selected the checkbox icon.
- Checklists allow users to quickly mark something as "Yes," "No," or leave it blank.
- You can either create one-off checklists or create a checklist template for reoccurring tasks via the web.