What is Version Control?

Follow

Version control is our system that lets you decide which version of your drawings you wish to view. Anytime you upload a new version of your sheets, Fieldwire will overlap the old version with the new version and transfer all the markups, annotations, and attachments over to the new version as well. Each sheet version will be stamped with the date it was uploaded, so you can always easily distinguish them. Older versions of the plans will also have a red watermark in their center to make it clear that you are not viewing the current versions. The latest version will always be displayed first.

However, in order for our version control system to work, every sheet version needs to have identical names or numbers, otherwise our software will read them as different sheets and won’t automatically pair them together. So make sure you don’t alter the names or numbers of the new versions of your drawings when you upload them. The sheet description will be the same as the original sheet’s description regardless.

When you upload new versions with identical names as the old versions, you will be prompted to confirm each new sheet as a new version in order to make sure everything is accurate.



 

 

If your drawing versions do have different names and are therefore separated when you upload them, you can manually edit the sheet names in order to get the versions to overlap. Just click on the plan title to edit it. They all just need to have the same file name for the system to work properly.

 

 

To auto-sync versions via Box or Dropbox, your sheets must be separated into individual files when you add them to your preferred cloud storage platform. The file names (and therefore the sheet numbers) must still be identical for the versioning system to work.

In addition to editing the sheet names in Fieldwire, you can also edit the descriptions at will. You can edit the description for a multipage PDF you’ve uploaded by clicking on the “Version Control” button in the top right corner of the Plans page. Then locate the entire set that was contained in that multipage file and click the “Edit” button to edit the description for every sheet.

 



You can also change which sheet is displayed first by clicking on the "Version Control" button right above the plan you are currently viewing. Once you’ve done that, hover your cursor over a specific version and you should see some arrow buttons appear that will change the order that this version is displayed in. This comes in handy if you accidentally upload the sheets in the wrong sequence the first time around. You can also click the "Edit" button to update version information or delete it entirely.

 

sheet_versioncontrol1.png

sheet_versioncontrol2.png

Have more questions? Submit a request