Overview & background
Fieldwire has three project permission levels: Project Admins, Members, and Followers. If you have been added as to a project as a 'Follower', then you can perform the following actions:
View plans and files
In the "Plans" tab, you'll be able to view all of the plan sheets that have been uploaded to the project, including all of the individual plan versions. Notice that all superseded versions will show an "old version" watermark on both web and on mobile. You are not able to upload or delete plans:
As a project follower, you are able to add private markups for yourself on the plan. You can view, as opposed to edit, the public markups made by project members and project admins.
Followers can view markup details (creator, created at the date, last modified by, last modified date). However, they cannot adjust the properties (line thickness, opacity, and color) of the markup another user has made.
Under the "Files" tab, you can view and download the project files. You'll also be able to see the Plans these files have been hyperlinked on. You cannot upload or delete files:
Access specific Photos
Followers will be able to see photos if:
- The follower is assigned to, or is a watcher on, a task with photos.
- The photos are hyperlinked directly to a plan.
- The photos were added via the Photos tab, as opposed to being added to tasks or plans without first being added to the Photos tab.
Note: Followers can add photos to tasks that they are assigned to, or watchers on. So, Project Followers are encouraged to add progress photos via Tasks. If you change an Admin or a Member to a Follower, photos in tasks that they are not assigned to, or a watcher on, will be automatically hidden from their view of the 'Photos' tab.
In some cases, photos on your project can be restricted from followers. The best way to restrict photo access from followers is to take photos within Fieldwire tasks that are not assigned to followers nor have followers as 'watchers':
View tasks you are watching or are assigned to
Select the "My tasks" category to view all of the tasks you have been assigned to, or are a watcher on. In the tasks, add photos, messages, checklists, crop plans, files, or any other information you need to document the work at hand:
View 'My Tasks' (Tasks you are assigned to):
As a project follower, you can create tasks from the 'Tasks' tab, or directly on a Plan. You can add messages, checklists, photos, files, crop plans, and even Form Templates and unique Tags to the Task. While you cannot create or delete categories, you can choose from existing categories for your task. You can also assign the task to any user on the project (or add them as watchers). Just select the task icon and click anywhere on the plan to add a Task on a Plan:
Note: A project follower can only delete tasks that they have created and are 'empty'. An 'empty' task has no content and the task attributes have not been adjusted.
If the Project uses Custom Task Statuses, Project Followers have access to any statuses that have ‘All users’ permissions:
If you opt not to leverage Custom Task Statuses, then Project Followers can choose to ‘Complete’ their tasks, then change the 'Assignee' to a project admin for Verification. The watchers on the task will be notified that the task is complete and the Assignee has changed:
These articles provide additional information on the Product areas followers will contribute to: