Using the Plan View (Web)

Follow

Plan View is where the magic happens. When you click on a specific plan, it is enlarged and a number of important options relating to tasks, markups, and hyperlinks become available to you:

  1. Filters - These allow you to select categories and tasks to view on the plan. These are useful for when you want to only see specific content and remove the rest from the plan.
  2. The toolbar on the left side of the screen. In descending order, you can:
    • View the plan in full screen.
    • Zoom In/Out
    • Markup the plan. This toolbar features an array of buttons, which include:
        • Marker Pin (Add a new task) - To create a new task, first click on this pin icon and then click on the area of the map you wish to drop that new task. The task editing screen will then appear.
        • Chain (Create a hyperlink) - Click this chain icon and then click the area of the plan that you want to place the link. You can link to other sheets, attachments, and photos using this function.
        • Pencil (Draw on the plan) - Clicking this pencil icon will let you draw lines, arrows, and general markups on the plan. Once clicked, you can select between a regular line or several translucent highlighter options. When creating a multi-point line, click on the multi-line tool icon again to finish your line. Holding the Shift key will snap straight lines and arrows at precise degree angles as you draw them.
        • Shapes (Outline an area) - Clicking this will allow you to use shapes to surround an area you wish to draw attention to. It can be a defined shape (like a circle or triangle), or you can create your own polygon. You can also create a cloud-like border around whatever you want by dragging your finger across the screen to the appropriate size (similar to the text box function).
        • "a" (Text Box) - Click on this icon to add a text box. You will be able to click and drag to create a text box of whatever size you choose. Once you finish that, the option to add your comment or description inside of the box will appear.
        • Ruler (Measurement tools) - Click on this icon to open up the measurement tools. You can calibrate distance, record new length measurements, and scale area within a shape that you create. Holding the Shift key will snap measurement lines at precise degree angles as you draw them.
        • Color (Red Circle) - Clicking this icon will allow you to choose from several colors. This affects the color of the pen, highlighter, arrow, text, and cloud tools.
        • Move (Crossed Arrows) - Clicking this icon will allow you to move any markups you’ve made with the previous tools around on the plan. Once you click it, every markup will be highlighted and you’ll be able to move them around as you see fit.
        • Undo (Reversed Arrow) - Clicking this will immediately delete the last markup you made on the plan during the current session.
        • Delete (Trash Can) - Click on the trash can icon to highlight all the markups on the plan. You can then click on any of these markups and they will be deleted. Be careful when using this tool, though - any markups that you delete will be deleted for everyone else on the project!
  3. You can rename the plan, edit the description, or leave a plan hashtag by clicking on the title.
  4. Control plan versions:
    • Add a new version by clicking the version button in the top right of the sheet.
    • When clicking this button, you can also select "Version Control," which will allow you to "Edit" the sheet description or leave notes.
    • You can use the blue arrow buttons on each version thumbnail to change the order the versions are displayed. Click on the version thumbnail to make these arrows appear.
    • If you click the "Version Control" button on the main Plans tab (where all your project plans are collected), you will see all individual plan notes and, if you have uploaded a multipage PDF plan, you will be able to edit them all from there.
  5. View older versions: Click this button to view the previous versions of this plan that you uploaded. Each version is labeled with the date it was uploaded. Tasks, hyperlinks, and markups will migrate between versions.
  6. Rotate the plan: Admins can use this button to rotate the alignment of the plan. All markups will rotate accordingly.
  7. Delete the plan: Admins can delete plans by clicking the red delete button. You are then asked to confirm the deletion before we proceed. Please note that all tasks and markups associated with the sheet will also be deleted if you choose to delete the plan from the project.
  8. The eyeball icon in the top right corner allows you to temporarily remove any markups and tasks from the plan. When you click on it, you will be able to select which plan layers (tasks, markups, attachments, links, or photos) you wish to hide, or you can choose to hide all layers. You can bring them all back by clicking them again.
  9. The tasks associated with the sheet are listed the right side of the page. You can edit the tasks within each pin, or from the column on the right side of the screen. Just click to open and interact with them.

 

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request