Overview & background
Users are organized under the People tab based on their level of access to alter the project. There are three main types of project users: Admins, Members, and Followers.
Project Admins have full access and control over each aspect of the project, including sending invites/granting permissions to other users. They can:
- Projects: Create and delete any project. Creating a new project automatically sets you as Admin.
- Plans: Upload and rename plans. Admins are also the only type of user that can delete plans. Add private and public markups, hyperlinks, and attachments (to and/all plans).
- Tasks: Create new tasks and categories, as well as assign tasks to other users. Other user types can update and complete tasks, but only Admins can mark tasks as Verified.
Project Members can execute most actions within a project as well as its plans and tasks, but they generally can only delete things they've added themselves. They can:
- Projects: Invite other users to projects - an Admin has to approve the invite - but they cannot edit user permissions.
- Plans: Export single plan sheets at PDFs, but not multiple plans at once. They cannot create or delete plans. They can add public and private markups, hyperlinks, and attachments to plans but only delete those that they created themselves, including photos. Similarly, they can add files to the project, but they can only delete those they've uploaded themselves (directly on the plan or via the Files tab).
- Tasks: Create new tasks, but they cannot create or delete categories. They can mark tasks as Completed, but not Verified. They cannot delete tasks with any content, but they can delete empty tasks.
Project Followers are not allowed to create, delete, nor add or edit permissions for any other users in your Project. Generally, they can view their own (private) plan markups, as well as tasks they've created or been assigned, but they cannot see or edit other users' public markups or tasks. They can:
- Plans: View plans, but they cannot create or delete them. They can create and delete their own Private Markups and add photos, but they cannot delete photos other than their own. They can view but not add or delete public files, markups, hyperlinks, or attachments.
- Tasks: Create new tasks and delete empty ones, but they cannot create or delete categories, nor delete a task once any content has been added to it. They can only see tasks that are currently or were previously assigned to them (all other tasks are hidden from their view).
- Photos: Followers will be able to see photos if:
- The photos have been added 'pinned' directly to a plan
- The photos have been taken on the mobile app from the photos tab
- The photos have been uploaded to the photos tab from an external source
- The photos are in a task that has been assigned to the follower, or a task that the follower is added to as a watcher.
Note: Project followers are not able to delete empty tasks / move tasks on our Fieldwire mobile apps; only on the web (when you log into Fieldwire via a web browser like Chrome, no matter what device you're on).
Summary Table of all Project User Types & Permissions