What is selective syncing?

Follow

Overview & background

 

Selective syncing is the ability to choose what data you want to sync to your mobile device. This allows you to save valuable storage space on an older device, or to control the amount of data used by Fieldwire on your device. 

 

Selective Syncing - Plan Revisions


Within your project settings (on web), you can select how many plan revisions are stored on mobile.  

Note: Note that this setting is applied to all users on the project.

Tip: Keep in mind that only Project Admins have access to this feature. 

 

A single plan file usually takes anywhere between 1-5MB of space (3MB on average), so reducing how many plans are synced to mobile helps to reduce the storage used on your device. Refer to this article for more information about mobile storage.

 

Selecting which plan revisions display on mobile - for everyone on the project 

Settings___UCB_-_LAB.png

 


Choosing which projects to sync to your device


Note: This feature is available on both the iOS and Android versions of the Fieldwire app.

When you first log into Fieldwire on your phone or tablet and view your active project list, you will see a cloud icon to the left side of each project title.

If you click on a project title to open it, you will be prompted to confirm that you want to "enable" or sync that project’s data to your device.

Note: Doing so will allow new data from that project to sync from then onward (you will not be prompted each time you open the project).

Tip: You can select which of your projects to sync to your mobile device and which not to.

 

If you would like to enable a project, follow the steps below.

 

Step 1:

Open the Fieldwire app.

Step 2:

Select the 'Cloud' icon next to the project you want to enable and in turn download onto the device.

 

iOS: 

 

iPad - list of disabled projects

IMG_193D252696A4-1.jpg 

 

 

Android:

 

Android tablet - list of disabled projects

Screenshot_20180912-154456_Fieldwire.jpg

 

 

Disabling a project you no longer want on your device

 

If you would like to disable a project, then you follow the steps below.

 

Step 1:

Open the project.

Step 2:

Go to Settings.

Step 3: 

Scroll down to 'Device Data' - iPad/iPhone.

Scroll down to 'Preferences' - Android.

Step 4:

Select 'Disable' in the blue font - iPad/iPhone.

Uncheck 'Synchronize project' - Android.

 

Tip: Do not select 'Delete' in red at the bottom of the Settings tab as this will delete the project. 

 

iPad - Disabling a project from your device

IMG_0141.png

 

Android - Disabling a project from your device by unchecking 'Synchronize project'.

 

Screenshot_20181008-141404_Fieldwire.jpg

 

More Information

 

Have more questions? Submit a request