Do you have more than one paid Fieldwire account? Our process for consolidating accounts consists of grouping individual paid accounts under one centralized account owner. This allows you to more easily manage your license/user count and keep track of your invoices. If you are in the process of transferring individual paying accounts to a central paying account, then you may also need to manually transfer your project(s) to the centralized paying account.
Alternatively, you may need to transfer your project from your Basic account to the paid account if you are the owner of a project under a Basic Plan and have been invited to a paid account.
Table of Contents
- When to consolidate paid accounts
- How to consolidate accounts
- Examples of account consolidations
- When to transfer a project to your paying account
- How to transfer a project to your paying account
When to consolidate paid accounts
You'll want to consolidate paid accounts when there are multiple users who each pay for their own Fieldwire subscription and you want one person to "own" the billing process and pay for all users in your organization.
Note: When a project is transferred to a different account, all users on the account or project are added to the main account. Ensure the correct people are on the Project before transferring project ownership to avoid any unexpected additional users.
How to consolidate accounts
The users with obsolete accounts downgrade their paid accounts to a Basic (or free) subscription by following this process: How do I downgrade or cancel my Fieldwire Subscription?
Note: If there are any 'Account Form Templates' on the account, please push these to a project prior to downgrading your subscription. These can be added to the new account after the project has been transferred. Take a look at this article for more details: Account Form Templates.
The new account owner invites all users to their account as Account users: How do I invite or remove a user to my Account or Projects?
Transfer all projects from each obsolete and now non-paying 'Basic' account to the primary paid account.
After these steps are completed, the individual paid accounts will be consolidated under one centralized Account Owner.
To verify who has been added to your account, check under the 'People' tab on the project dashboard. Everyone listed on the Account 'People' tab is covered by your account:
Examples of account consolidations
Situation: Dinesh and Maisie are both paying for accounts. Their company wants the billing to be centralized (with Maisie as the Account Owner) so she can pay for everyone.
To do this:
- Dinesh downgrades his account to the Basic version
- Maisie invites Dinesh to her account as an Account User
- Dinesh can then open the project and 'Transfer' the projects to Maisie's paying account by selecting 'Transfer to my Pro/Business/Premier account' (screenshot below).
Situation: Conifer Construction Inc. has 4 paid accounts under Tammy, Jorge, Alex, and Riley. The account owner, Riley, wants to pay for everyone to centralize billing.
The process is exactly the same:
- Tammy, Jorge, and Alex downgrade their accounts so they are no longer paying for Fieldwire.
- Riley invites Tammy, Jorge, and Alex to their account as Account Users.
- All users can now open the projects they wish to transfer to Riley's account, and select 'Transfer to my Pro/Business/Business Plus account' (screenshot above).
When and how to transfer a project
If your project says "Basic Plan" rather than"Pro", "Business" or "Business Plus" even though you are covered under a paying account, you will want to transfer your project:
Note: When a project is transferred to an account, all users on the project are added to the main account. Ensure that the correct people are on the project before transferring project ownership.
Note: If a project is under an Enterprise Plan, it cannot be transferred.
How to transfer a project to your paying account
Projects can be transferred from a 'Basic' plan to a Pro, Business, or Business Plus subscription as a part of account consolidation. If you'd like to close out a project instead, please refer to this guide: How to Close out a Fieldwire Project
Check your permission levels
a) Account status: You will need to have access to the account that will own the project as an Account User or Account Manager. If this is not the case, you can ask someone in the organization to add you as one.
You can view the 'Account' permissions from the 'People' tab on the project dashboard (see below):
b) Project status: Ensure that you're a Project Admin on the project that will be transferred.
Note: You can view the Project permission statuses on the Project 'People' tab, under the 'Access' tab (see below):
Keep in mind that account permission levels work differently than project permission levels. Here are the articles that explore the distinctions of each:
- Introduction to Account Permission Levels: Managers, Account Users, and Project Users
- Introduction to Project Permission Levels: Administrators, Members, and Followers
Open the pertinent Project
Click 'Transfer to my...' in the upper right corner of your screen
The project will now be covered by your paid Pro, Business, or Business Plus account, and you will be the project owner. If you are an Account User, then your Account Owner/Managers will receive an email to confirm the transfer.