Fieldwire has the option to permanently retain Plans and Files uploaded to Fieldwire within your device's internal storage. This feature is tied to your profile, similar to smart synchronization (What is Smart Syncing?); it will apply across all enabled projects on your device. The purpose of this is to ensure that users on larger-scale projects can access all of their files when offline.
When this option is disabled, files are stored in your device's cache (instant memory). Disabling Permanent File storage reduces the amount of device storage Fieldwire uses, but it may mean you cannot access old project files when offline.
Note: Permanent File storage is device-specific; it can be enabled on one device, but disabled on another.
How to enable permanent file storage
1. Select the 'Profile' option from the project dashboard.
2. Select the option for "Store files permanently on device".
Note: This feature is disabled by default to preserve storage space (see this article for more info: Does your device have enough storage space?). If this option is enabled, files that are synced or viewed are permanently saved to your device. If this feature is not enabled, then the files will still be available in your device's cache.
Tip: If you choose to disable permanent storage at some point after it is enabled, new files are saved to your device's cache rather than its internal memory. To remove the files that have been already saved to the internal memory, choose to disable and re-enable the project (you can follow the process in this article: What is selective syncing?).